CARICOM Day 2018

4 July 2018

The Caribbean Community (CARICOM) is a grouping of twenty countries: fifteen Member States  and five Associate Members which came into being on 4 July 1973 with the signing of the Chaguaramas Treaty by Prime Ministers Errol Barrow of Barbados, Forbes Burnham of Guyana, Eric Williams of Trinidad and Tobago and Michael Manley of Jamaica.

Photo: Cutting the cake (l-r) High Commissioners Kenrick Hunte of Guyana, Angela Comfort of Jamaica and Roger Gopaul of Trinidad and Tobago

On 30 June 2018 the three CARICOM countries represented in South Africa, namely, Trinidad and Tobago, Guyana and Jamaica, hosted a reception to celebrate CARICOM DAY 2018. The celebration showcased culture and cuisine of the Caribbean.

The Caribbean Connection (a live band) entertained guests and authentic Caribbean cuisine was prepared by the different High Commissions.

Speaking at his official residence where the reception was held, High Commissioner Roger Gopaul said that CARICOM rests on four main pillars: economic integration; foreign policy coordination; human and social development; and security.

High Commissioner Gopaul also said that CARICOM recognises the great freedom fighters, Nelson Mandela and Albertina Sisulu as South Africa and the world celebrate the centenary of their births. Their contribution not only to South Africa but to the world, was immense, he said.

High Commissioners Kenrick Hunte of Guyana and Angela Comfort of Jamaica also addressed guests detailing the history, goals, cohesiveness, community and culture of CARICOM.

The CARICOM member states are Antigua and Barbuda, Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Dominica, Grenada, Guyana, Haiti, Jamaica, Montserrat, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Suriname, and Trinidad and Tobago. The 5 associate members are Anguilla, Bermuda, the British Virgin Islands, the Cayman Islands, and Turks and Caicos.